01 PDs with DOST Executives

Awardees and finalists for Most Outstanding Provincial Science & Technology Directors together with their respective Regional Directors, and top executives of the Department of Science and Technology.

Behind the various achievements of the DOST are men and women who are dedicated into serving the grass roots in every region. There are also people behind the limelight whose efforts remain unrecognized.

Simultaneously held during the Mindanao Technology Transfer Day, a short ceremony also took place to award the Most Outstanding Provincial Science and Technology Directors (PSTD). The award recognizes exemplary leadership, performance, and innovativeness.


The MSMEs and IP Champion, Mr. Virgilio M. Fuertes of PSTC-Bukidnon, was awarded as 2nd runner-up because of his ardent support to the indigenous peoples of Bukidnon and enabling MSMEs to adopt appropriate DOST S&T services. Meanwhile, Mr. Bernardo T. Caringal of PSTC- Marinduque was named 1st runner-up because of his strategic mindset and strong linkages to the communities in his province.

No less than the DOST Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña himself awarded Engr. Marcelo G. Miguel of PSTC-Isabela as the Most Outstanding Provincial Director.  Engr. Miguel is a staunch supporter of agriculture and his programs significantly improved the agricultural and economic activities in their province.

Engr Marcelo Miguel Most Outstanding PD

AGRICULTURE ADVOCATE.  Engr. Marcelo G. Miguel, bagged the Most Outstanding PSTD Award for 2015.

DOST Secretary Fortunato T. Dela Peña stressed that the award does not only recognizes their outstanding contribution and performance in their respective offices, but also serves as a proof of their commitment to public service.

“This is a testament to the dedication of our frontliners, their untarnished ethical standards, and conviction that science, technology, and innovation have a major role in regional development contributing to national progress,” Dela Peña said.

Other finalists for the award include Mr. Kenneth D. Barroga of PSTC-Compostela Valley, Engr. Lota M. Paras of DOST-NCR, Engr. Sheila L. Oberio of PSTC-Iloilo, and Ms. Felina C. Malabanan of PSTC-Batangas.



DOST XI S&T Promotions