Mr. Emiliano F. Quitiol topped the Outstanding Utility Model (UM) category with his entry entitled “Thermal  Used Lubricating Oil Redistiller.”  Mr. Edgar Delibo bagged the 2nd and 3rd place for the UM category with his entries entitled “Organic Body Scrub” and “Muscle Pain Reliever Lotion (Haplus),” respectively.

For the Outstanding Creative Researches (Likha Award), Mr. Ceasar P. Bravo of the Bravo School of Technology won the 1st Place with his entry entitled “Quartz Watch Detector Machine.”  The 2nd and 3rd Placer come from the University of the Immaculate Conception with the entry of Mr. Renan P. Limjuco entitled “Low-cost Venturi Meter: Understanding Bernoulli's Equation through a Demonstration” and the entry of Mr. Eric John G. Emberda entitled “A customized open journal system for the University of the Immaculate Conception,” respectively.

For the Outstanding Student Creative Research (Sibol Award) for High School, Nabunturan National Comprehensive High School won the 1st Place with their entry entitled “Noncyanidation using Tubli (Derris elliptica) root extracts and bioxidation in retrieving valuable materials.”  The 2nd Place was bagged by Digos City National High School with their entry entitled “The economical electrical energy (E^3 box) as power source.”  While the 3rd Place goes to Philippine Science High School – SMC with their entry “Fabrication and Characterization of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cell Materials Using Ag-TiO2 and Bixa orellana (Atsuete) on glass substrates.”

Lastly, the Outstanding Student Creative Research (Sibol Award) for College Students, the 1st and 2nd Place was bagged by the University of Southeastern Philippines with their entry entitled “Doc. Banana: A Digital Image Processing Approach for Early Banana's Black Sigatoka Detection” and “Wordify: A Selected Language Translator Using Digital Image Processing,” respectively.  While the 3rd place goes to San Pedro College with their entry entitled “The Blood Sugar and Cholesterol Level Lowering Activity of the Capsule Formulation from the Curcumin Fraction of Turmeric (Curcuma longa Zing.) Rhizome Extract.”

The Board of Judges during the 2013 RICE includes Engr Eriberto P. Barriga, Jr. of ICT Davao, Dr. Maricar R. Casquejo of CHED XI, Engr. Edmar A. Derla of DOE XI, Ms. Judy Donna A. Nueva Ecija and Ms. Elsie Mae A. Solidum of DOST XI.  Judging of entries was based on criteria which include commercial viability, market potential, aesthetics, uniqueness, and originality and creativity.

First placers will have a chance to compete in the 2014 National Invention Contest and Exhibit (NICE) in SMX, SM Mall of Asia, Pasay City next year.