The Regional Standards and Testing Laboratories (RSTL) - Davao is a PNS ISO/IEC 17025: 2005 accredited testing laboratory for Chemical, Microbiological and Calibration Testing certified by the Philippine Accreditation Office (PAO). It offers microbiological and physio-chemical testing for food and water. The laboratory also conducts calibration services for length, mass and big and small volume, and accepts shelf life testing and sensory evaluation.


The regional laboratory is managed by the Department of Science and Technology - Region XI, an ISO 9001:2008 accredited organization and recipient of Level 1 recognition in the Philippine Quality Awards. Primarily serving food processing industry in Davao and nearby regions, RSTL-Davao is also accredited by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) - to handle the testing of food products. The laboratory also, issues Formula of Conversion (FOC) or Certificate of Formula of Manufacture (CFM) for importers and exporters.

DOST XI provides technology training services to customers particularly those intending to establish new technology-based enterprises (livelihood) or upgrade existing ones. This program involves the transfer of knowledge and/or skills by tapping S&T experts from various RDIs and councils thru any or a combination of the following processes:

  • Technical lecture
  • Demonstration
  • Seminar
  • Workshop
  • Forum

Small Enterprise Technology Upgrading Program

Purpose of the Program

The Department of Science and Technology’s Small Enterprise Technology Upgrading Program (DOST-SETUP) is a nationwide strategy encouraging and assisting MSMEs to adopt technological innovations to improve their operations and increase their productivity and competitiveness.

Under the Science and Technology Experts Volunteer Pool Program (STEVPP), experts will extend free assistance (e.g., training, seminars, workshops, hands-on-demonstration) to NGOs, cooperatives and other interested parties in the countryside.

Several programs of the Department of Science and Technology are geared to encourage and develop interest among students, out-of-school youths, and young professionals in selected universities, colleges, and non-government organizations on technology-based entrepreneurship.

Under the combined programs called Small Enterprise Technology Upgrading Program, and DOST-Academe Technology-Based Enterprise Development (SETUP-DATBED) Program, the DOST through its National Capital Regional Office provides funds, facilities, and technologies to qualified schools and NGOs that offer tertiary science and technology courses, enterprise development programs, and youth projects.

The Consultancy for Agricultural Productivity Enhancement (CAPE) program aims to institutionalize effective farm management strategies to improve agricultural productivity. DOST thru TAPI provide consultancy teams to undertake productivity studies in any qualified small/medium scale agricultural enterprises.

The Manufacturing Productivity Extension (MPEX) Program is a program of DOST through the Technology Application and Promotion Institute (TAPI) that assists small and medium enterprises (SMEs) in the manufacturing sector to improve their overall productivity.


  1. To provide consultancy to manufacturing firms in the export/potential for export sector to make their products more competitive both in price and quality in the world market;
  2. Identify strategies to improve productivity of small and medium manufacturing enterprises in the export sector;
  3. Recommend productivity improvement measures for immediate implementation;
  4. Develop capability to provide other forms of assistance to the manufacturing sector; and
  5. Provide venue for the entries of other DOST programs and projects particularly technology transfer activities.

The ERDT is a consortium of eight member universi-ties in the country that offer master’s and doctoral degrees in various engineering fields. De La Salle University (DLSU), Mapua Institute of Technology (MIT), Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU), Min-danao State University Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT), University of San Carlos (USC), Central Luzon State University (CLSU), University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), and University of the Philipines Diliman (UPD) constitute the consortium.

The S&T Scholarship Act of 1994 or Republic Act 7687 seeks to massively increase the S&T manpower pool of the country by providing more scholarship slots for both BS and technology courses. The Institute continuously implements this program to serve S&T-inclined youth whose economic status restrains them from pursuing tertiary or post-secondary courses which will enable them to become productive citizens of the country.

The Department of Science and Technology –Science Education Institute has created a consortium among four universities in Visayas and Mindanao to establish a common quality graduate programs in science and mathematics education (SME) and to experts in SME in these areas. The member universities of the consortium are: West Visayas State University (WVSU) in Region VI, University of San Carlos (USC) in Region VII, Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) in Region IX and Mindanao State University-Marawi (MSU) in ARMM.

  • Master’s Program in Science Education
  • PhD Program in Science Education